The company announced this week a series of new privacy tools across its various apps, including a mode that lets you cut down on recording where you’re going or where you’ve been and pause location sharing. (Those locations won’t be saved to your Google account and the app won’t use them to suggest destinations to you).
But the feature, which is available on Android now and coming to iOS soon, has significant limitations. “Turning on Incognito Mode in Maps does not affect how your activity is used or saved by internet providers, other apps, voice search, and other Google services,” the company clarifies in a message.
In other words, it mostly lets you hide your location history from yourself.