Russian freighter arrives at International Space Station

Two days after launching from the steppe of Kazakhstan, a Russian Progress resupply and refueling freighter docked with the International Space Station Sunday.

The Progress MS-10 spacecraft lifted off Friday from the Baikonur Cosmodrome atop a Soyuz-FG rocket in pursuit of the space station, kicking off a series of orbital adjustment maneuvers to approach the research outpost.

The supply ship’s radar-guided rendezvous is expected culminated in an automated docking with the aft port on the space station’s Zvezda service module at 2:28 p.m. EST (1928 GMT) Sunday, delivering around 5,500 pounds (2,495 kilograms) of supplies, experiments and commodities for the orbiting outpost and its crew.

“That’s only act one of a 24-hour, two-part act of delivery runs to the International Space Station,” said Rob Navias, commentator for NASA TV’s broadcast of the Progress docking Sunday.

The Progress docking is the first of two supply ship arrivals planned at the space station in less than 15 hours. A commercial Cygnus cargo vehicle built and operated by Northrop Grumman launched Saturday from Wallops Island, Virginia, and is scheduled to be captured by the station’s robotic arm at 5:20 a.m. EST (1020 GMT) Monday.

[Read More]